Loading Events

WEBINAR ON INDIA’S SUPREME COURT RULING ON AADHAAR AND ITSIMPACT ON FINTECH AND TELECOM MARKETS

Wednesday, October 31, 2018 - Wednesday, October 31, 2018
10:00 am - 11:00 am

Webinar


The webinar will analyze the impact of Aadhaar judgment on compliance, KYC norms by telecoms and payments service providers, and India's emerging privacy regime. Mr. Supratim Chakraborty, Partner, Khaitan & Co. Other speakers to be confirmed

Schedule:

7:00 AM -8.00 AM (PST) 
10.00AM – 11.00 AM (EST)
7:30PM-8.30PM (IST)

Webinar details to be provided
In partnership with Khaitan & Co., the U.S.-India Business Council invites you to join a webinar on the recent Indian Supreme Court on Aadhaar. 
The ruling, while upholding central elements of the Aadhaar Act 2016, limits the use of Aadhaar data by private sector service providers, which could have important implications for Know-Your-Customer (KYC) regulations, as well as telecom and financial payments businesses.   
The Aadhaar number-based authentication establishes the identity of an individual for receipt of a subsidy, benefit or service given by theGovernment of India.  The Court, however, disallowed the use of individual Aadhaar numbers by any private entities for establishing the identity of the individual concerned for any purpose pursuant to a contract, on the basis that it was contrary to the fundamental right to privacy.  In addition, the Court put strict requirements on the Government when seeking access to Aadhaar data, which could provide parameters for law enforcement in India’s pending data privacy bill.